GTF Awards 2018 London

Global Thinkers Forum Announces 2018 Awards for Excellence Gala

Women: 100 Years of Passion and Purpose

HE Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, First Elected Female Head of State in Africa &

Nobel Peace Prize Laureate to be the keynote speaker

More than 180 thought leaders from industry, academia, and government around the world will convene in London on 6 December 2018 to attend Global Thinkers Forum’s 6th annual Awards for Excellence Gala in London at the Royal Automobile Club. The keynote speaker at this year’s event is HE Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, the First Elected Female Head of State in Africa & Nobel Peace Prize Laureate.

To commemorate the 100 years since the Suffragette movement, the theme of this year’s event is Women: 100 Years of Passion and Purpose. The awards ceremony will honour eight women who have made a significant contribution and played an inspirational role in furthering women in the areas of Business, Entrepreneurship, Women’s Empowerment, Global Thinking, Leadership, Positive Change, African Female Leader, and a Lifetime Achievement Award.

Elizabeth Filippouli, Founder and CEO, Global Thinkers Forum said, “We believe that women have a major role to play in our societies as change makers and leaders. Through our 6th Honorary Awards we aim to honour women who have leveraged ideas, innovation, technology, passion, culture and values by leading by example and creating a positive social impact. With this year’s awards, marking 100 years since the Suffragette movement, Global Thinkers Forum aims to inspire and motivate women worldwide to make meaningful contributions to good governance, prosperity and development.”

In addition to the 2018 Awards for Excellence honouring women and their vital contributions to society, Global Thinkers Forum has also launched another programme, Athena40, which is the first ever global list of the top 40 most powerful minds. Launched in Paris at UNESCO in March 2018, Athena40 acknowledges the work of the 40 most dynamic, active and fearless female thought leaders, columnists, commentators and activists across all industries and from all over the world. The first list will be announced in 2020.

Among the notable guests attending the 2018 Awards for Excellence Gala include Her Royal Highness Princess Sumaya bint El Hassan, President of the Royal Scientific Society in Jordan; Nawal El Saadawi, acclaimed Egyptian author; The Rt. Hon. Patricia Scotland QC who is a supporter of Athena40; The Rt. Hon. Tobias Ellwood MP, winner for a 2017 Award for Excellence; and award-winning author, Elif Shafak.